How My Name Came to be

whats-in-a-name

photo credit

What’s in a (Popular) Name?

My name is Lee Seaun. It was my dad who made my name and the people who professionally made names for their livings had said that my name was very well named. ‘Sea’ represents for the meaning of ‘first’ and ‘un’ means a blessing, which shows that ‘Seaun’ is the first blessing. I had asked my mom what meanings my name contained when I was young. She said that since I was the first kid in our family, I was the first blessing to my parents. Also, the letter ‘un’ also meant to consist the hope of my parents that I could be a blessing to those in need of help.

There is also a behind story to my name. When my mom got pregnant, my dad started making list of names according to the expected date of confinement. Then he gave the several list of names he made to my mom to choose what she most favored. ‘Seaun’ and ‘Siwon’ was the best two that she liked and I was called ‘Siwon’ while the pregnancy period. But when I was born, my parents thought that I could be laughed at by my name since ‘Siwon’ meant ‘cool’ in Korean. So another name that my dad came up with was ‘Seaun’ and so that’s how my name came to be.

When I was very very young, I used to not like my name because I thought that my name had too simple strokes when all my friend’s names were complicated to write. I had envied friends in kindergarten who had complicated names because I thought it looked much cooler, how it took them long time to learn how to write their name properly.

But nowadays whenever I have to write my name, I realized how pleasant it sounds and yet, very simple to remember and write.

댓글 남기기